mama musings: tov

While our kiddos are with my parents, I thought it was perfect time for me to share what God has been saying to this mama these days.  I just finished this book and it was fabulous.  It’s written by a pair of ladies, one of which I was in a discipleship huddle with a few years back.  It combines story and truth in a well-written, readable way.  The premise is that we, as women, were created to be wild and free.  We’re not created to be timid, hidden, or anything other than who we are.

I was a few chapters in when the kairos came.  The word:  tov.  It’s hebrew for good.  It shows up in the creation story many, many times.  Our Creator called everything He made, tov-that includes us.  The neat part?  Tov also translates to “at ease” or “as you were created to be.”  How many times do we answer “good” when asked how we are?  And do we mean “at ease”?  Or do we just say it to give the answer we’re supposed to give.  What if, when we answer, “good,” we truly mean, “we are at ease, we are content with who we were made to be”?  Life changing.  Repentance.

So who was I created to be?

  • His daughter-I am a representative of his Tov News and His Kingdom.
  • Nate’s wife-I am intelligent, sexy, confident, and playful.
  • Courben’s mom-I am logical and rhythmed.
  • Judah’s mom-I am funny and creative.
  • Gracelyn’s mom-I am snuggly and full of energy.
  • I am a lover of Creation, biking, reading, all things breakfast, and music.

It’s funny because as I got to thinking about all that He made me to be and be at ease with, the verse in 1 Corinthians came to mind- “I have become all things to all people so that in all possible ways I might save some.  I do all of that because of the Tov News.  And I want to share in its blessing,” (1 Cor 9:22-23).  I didn’t know seven years ago that I would have three vastly different children who would need me to have different qualities to understand and love them well, but our Maker did.  And just like Paul says, I have become all things to these people He has put in my life to love so that they will experience the Tov News through me.

So, there it is.  My word from my Dad is “be at ease”.  So as we continue to rest and wait on the Lord for what our next assignment is, I will proclaim that I am tov, good, at ease, and content with who He made me to be.

Leave a Reply

