mama musings: thy will be done

I know it’s been a little while since I’ve shared what God has been saying to me and honestly, it’s been a long time since I’ve heard a distinct word from Him.  I know I’m his daughter, he’s my Dad, and we have this thing called a relationship where we talk back and forth.  But I suppose just like any relationship, there are high spots and low spots, fruitful spots and dry spots.  To say it’s been low and dry would be pretty accurate as of late.

Most of you know we thought we heard pretty clearly that our next step on our missionary journey is Greenville, South Carolina.  We had been invited on an adventure with some pretty amazing people, there was hope of a homeschool co-op extended family, and there were adoptive families everywhere.  The problem?  No job.  Not a millimeter of movement on that front.  We pushed every door we could and were hoping God would make something happen.  He hasn’t.  Time has not run out yet; we still have two weeks before we need to make a decision for our landlord, but time is short.

So, I’ve shifted my prayers from detailed-give-Nate-a job-an interview-a connection-anything to broad and big, “your will be done.”  On a larger scale, we’re up for anything.  We are called to be missionaries wherever we are, we just want to walk that out with other people.  So, we’re asking God for His will.  It sounds like a cop-out sometimes, but then I remember Mary.  This was the prayer she prayed when the angel showed up and told her she was going to have a baby, holy spirit style.  It must have been one of her go-to prayers, because Jesus picked it up along the way, too.  He prayed it in the Garden before taking up his cross.  Not my will, but yours.  So, I’m adopting it for this season, too.

We don’t know what’s next for our family in the coming weeks or months.  We do know we have rested up for something.  We’re ready to get back on mission and we’re ready to be in community again.

Oh, and that song?  It’s my theme song as I’m sure you can tell why.

 

2 thoughts on “mama musings: thy will be done

  1. Beautiful! I presented you to our Dad. I presented you to the One who was raised from the dead that you may have life! I presented you to the One who abides deep inside you.

    Date: Thu, 26 May 2016 18:57:45 +0000 To: nathansimons@hotmail.com

    • Thanks Dad. I know there is a promise for fruit, new life, and community. I can hardly wait!

Leave a Reply

