a tribute to junie b

image

Dear Barbara Park,

I can’t thank you enough for writing the Junie B. Jones series.  My five year old has only read one of your books so far, but I know we’ll be hunting down the other 28 at the library in the coming months.  He’s a great reader, but we’ve been teetering between Frog and Toad books and chapter books for far too long.  He just wouldn’t make the jump, even though he was capable.  I’m sure it had something to do with sheer number of words on a page and not being able to read the whole book in one sitting, but yesterday he finally made it.  I have to say, there just isn’t another good series that bridges the gap.  So, we pretty much read every level 1, 2, and 3 reader there was, plus some Nate the Great and Arthur books.

If I’m honest, I had been avoiding Junie B…and for really no good reason other than the main character being a girl.  I know, pretty lame reason.  When I realized Junie was in Kindergarten for most of her stories, I thought this might just be the hook that draws my guy in.  Sure enough!   He even chose to tell me what happened in the story without me having to drag it out of him or pull any teeth.  He was even a bit shy to tell some of it because Junie B.’s teacher had accidentally stolen grapes from the grocery store.  He didn’t want anyone to get in trouble.  So cute!

So thank you for being able to captivate a little boy so much that he looked past the number of words on the page and got sucked into the story.

Sincerely,

One Proud Mama

Leave a Reply

